Volunteer recognition

Frank Graham 4-H Volunteer Leadership Award

The Frank Graham 4-H Volunteer Leadership Award recognizes 4-H volunteers for their hard work and dedication to Missouri's youth. The award is named in honor of Frank Graham, former director of the MU Extension 4-H Center for Youth Development and founding member of the Missouri 4-H Foundation Board of Trustees.


Nominees must meet the following criteria:

  • Have a minimum of five (5) years of volunteer service to Missouri 4-H.
  • Nominees must be recognized volunteers (screened, approved, with an existing 4HOnline profile) in the previous program year. For example, a 2021 nominee should have been a recognized volunteer between Oct. 1, 2019 and Sept. 30, 2020.
  • Counties are limited to one (1) nomination (single person or couple) per year, regardless of the number of volunteers in that county.
  • Depending on the number of nominees received, awards may be limited to no more than two volunteers per region. A small committee will make the final selection based on:
    • Years of service
    • Demonstrated leadership amongst fellow volunteers (e.g., helps staff with club or project leader training for new volunteers, mentors new volunteers)
    • Demonstrated personal growth as a volunteer (e.g., attendance at Energizers or other 4-H educational events, 4-H Volunteer e-Forums)

2021 Nomination Information

Please complete the Frank Graham 2021 nomination form to nominate a 4-H volunteer for the 2019-2020 program year by September 1, 2021.

Frank Graham Award nomination


Due to COVID restrictions in place in spring 2021, the annual reception was postponed. The 2021 celebration has been rescheduled! The 2021 nominees will be invited to the spring reception along with the 2022 nominees.

For questions about the Frank Graham 4-H Volunteer Leadership Award, please contact Eric Jackson.

(The nomination form for 2022 Frank Graham nominees will open in fall 2021. More information soon.)