Advisory council

Advisory Council members

In 2016, the University of Missouri Extension gave approval for the University of Missouri Fire and Rescue Training Institute to establish an Advisory Council for the Institute. The purpose of the Advisory Council is to provide input and guidance on strategic planning and training initiatives. This includes advice on current and emerging trends and issues in fire, rescue, and emergency response that may impact the design and delivery of training services in Missouri.

The Council is composed of members selected to represent a cross section of the fire service. Members are selected by MU FRTI Administration with approval by the Extension Cabinet. Council members constitute a geographic cross-section of the fire service and other representative members. An orientation and work session for members is conducted where members are lead through work exercises that look at the operations of the Institute and conduct a strategic planning session that will lead to the development of future priorities.

Current members

Jeff Grote

Chair of the Council

Les Crews

Vice Chair of the Council, Region C

Mark Arnold

Region G

Duane Compton

Region D

Robbie Erdel

Fire Fighters Association of Missouri

Jeff Grote

Region A

Mike Holcer

Missouri Association of Fire Chiefs

Bill Lamar

Region H

Mark Mauer

Kansas City Fire Department

Olan Morelan

Springfield Fire Department

David Neighbors

St. Louis Fire Department

Grant Peters


Sam Schneider

Region I

Don Seymore

Region E