About the Missouri Strip Trial Program

The Missouri Strip Trial Program program uses on-farm and field-scale research to provide growers with farm-specific data and information they can use to guide decisions and evaluate best management practices while protecting or improving their bottom line.

Examples of past trials include treatment strips of with and without fungicide, with or without a seed treatment, or strips of different cover crops versus no cover crop treatment strips.

Farmer Panel Advisory Board

Twice a year, the Strip Trial Program Farmer Panel Advisory Board meets to review the program and set priorities of what new types of trials they would like to see conducted in the future. The Strip Trial Program Staff and the regional Extension Faculty then use the Board’s recommendations to request funding to carry out the preferred trials.

Farmer panel

The current farmer panel list:

Farmer members

     1. Robert Alpers (Prairie Home)
     2. Neal Bredehoeft (Alma)
     3. Matt Lambert (Brookfield)
     4. Mark Lehenbauer (Hannibal)
     5. Brian Lehman (Versailles)
     6. Aaron Porter (Dexter)
     7. Linus Rothermich (Auxvasse)
     8. Doug Thomas (Brashear)
     9. Jules Willott (Laddonia)

Industry representatives

     1. Scott Wilburn (MFA, Laddonia)

Contact a farmer panel member near you if you would like to suggest a new type of trial to be added to the list for consideration.

Sponsoring partners

This program is made possible by support from the Missouri Corn and Soybean Merchandising Councils, their checkoff and MU Extension.

Missouri Soybeans                 Missouri Corn logo

Strip Trial Program contacts