MOCAN Healthcare Awards

Healthcare award nominations

9th Annual MOCAN Healthcare Professional and Student Awards
Know a healthcare professional or healthcare professions student who promotes healthy eating and active living in their community? Please nominate them for the MOCAN award for Excellence in Connecting Health to the Community. The winner in each category will be recognized and share their work at a MOCAN meeting, be featured on a podcast, be the subject of a press release in their local community and receive a gift card! The deadline for application and supporting materials has been extended until June 1, 2020. Please see the links below for the nomination forms.

Healthcare award recipients

2019 Healthcare Professional Award Recipient
Laura Hyland, RN, is currently enrolled at the Research College of Nursing in the Executive Practice Healthcare Leadership Masters of Science in Nursing Program. She is a social work and nursing graduate of the University of Missouri. Laura is an active member of Covenant Presbyterian Church where she founded Covenant Community Health and Wellness around an active food pantry ministry. Watch Laura's video to learn more about her work in the urban core of Kansas City.

2019 Healthcare Pre-professional Award Recipient
Throughout his biological sciences undergraduate career at Mizzou, Daniel Bicklein devoted time to leading community health programs like Stay Strong, Stay Healthy (SSSH), MU Extension exercise program for older adults. Watch Daniel's video to learn more about SSSH and his hopes of serving a rural community and offering similar programs as a family physician in the future.