• Winners of the first-place Championship Flight included, from left, Kory Niesen, Ben Gallup, Steve Ball and Trenton Monnig. Photo by Marta Payne
    Winners of the first-place Championship Flight included, from left, Kory Niesen, Ben Gallup, Steve Ball and Trenton Monnig. Photo by Marta Payne

COLUMBIA, Mo. – Golfers hit the greens in support of Missouri 4-H youth at the eighth annual 4-H Clover Classic Golf Tournament on June 6 in Columbia, Mo. Co-presenting sponsors were The Climate Corp., a division of Monsanto, and Great American Insurance Group’s Crop Division.

“We are thrilled with the support shown by our partners and friends for the eighth annual 4-H Clover Classic,” said Rachel Augustine, interim director of the Missouri 4-H Foundation. “Twenty-seven teams joined us in support of the MU Extension 4-H Youth Development Program, helping us raise more than $32,000 for Missouri 4-H.”

Bob Idel, co-chair along with Alison Copeland, interim director of the MU Extension 4-H Center for Youth Development, and Chris Chinn, director of the Missouri Department of Agriculture, welcomed players and thanked everyone for their ongoing support of youth in agriculture before challenging teams to have fun on the golf course while supporting Missouri 4-H youth.

Awards for the first-place Championship Flight went to the team of Steve Ball, Ben Gallup, Trenton Monnig and Kory Neisen. Awards for the second-place Championship Flight went to the team of Phil Fancher, Dave Heet, Keith Whitney and Terry Whitney.

Awards for the first-place A Flight went to the Hoop Beef System team of Bob Idel, Sam Schulen, Jeff Windett and Gary Wrye. Awards for the second-place A Flight went to the FCS Financial team of Brent Collier, Scott Gardner, Mike Ogle and Brian Schrock.

Awards for first-place B Flight went to the team of Ben Brown, Robert Childers, Anita Hough and Susan McIntire. Awards for second-place B Flight went to the team of Nyle Klinginsmith, Jim Ollar, Tony Sloan and Roy Willard.

Platinum sponsors included Archer Daniels Midland Co., Crop Risk Services, FCS Financial, Missouri Farm Bureau, Missouri Soybean Association, Starline Brass and Vivayic Inc.

Premium sponsors included Farmers Mutual Hail Insurance Co. of Iowa, Lyle Houts family, MFA Inc., George Thomas and Marla Tobin.

Players enjoyed lunch provided and prepared by the Missouri Cattlemen’s Association, the Missouri Pork Association, Peachtree Catering and Lutz’s BBQ. Fechtel Beverage & Sales Inc. was the beverage sponsor.

Hole and team sponsors included Archer Daniels Midland Co.; Association of Missouri Electric Cooperatives; Audsley & Associates; Central Crop Insurance Services Inc.; Crop Risk Services; Edward Jones, David A. Reid; Epperson Farms; Exchange Bank of Missouri; FCS Financial Crop Insurance; Heimer & Associates Inc.; Henderson Implement & Outdoor Power Co.; Bud and Betty Hertzog; Joan and John Hickman; Hoop Beef System; Bob and Pam Idel; Inland Truck Parts & Service; JBS Live Pork; Jim Butler Chevrolet; Jost Tire Co.; Kevin and Carol Langford; Ina Linville; Chastity A. Menz, CPA, LLC; MFA Oil; Midwest Dairy; Missouri Agribusiness Association; Missouri Beef Industry Council; Missouri Corn Growers Association; Missouri Department of Conservation; Missouri Egg Council; Missouri Geographic Alliance; Missouri Geography Bee; Missouri Pork Association; Missouri Ruralist; Noah’s Ark Veterinary Service; Diane Olson; Orscheln Farm & Home; Pioneer, Stephen G. Morfeld; Progressive Farm Credit Services; Rain and Hail LLC; RIBUS Inc.; Linda Scorse; Sydenstricker John Deere; UMKC Institute for Human Development; Mindy and Stacy Ward.

Players won cash and prizes donated by A. L. Gustin Golf Course; AgriMissouri; Rachel Augustine; Casey’s General Store; Char Bar; Chigger Creek Wood Products; Dogmaster Distillery; Fahrmeier’s U-Pick Berry Patch; FCS Financial; Fretboard Coffee; GOPO; Hart’s Diesel Inc.; Hot Box Cookies; Kansas City Chiefs; Kansas City Royals; Lakota Coffee; The Lodge at Old Kinderhook; Missouri Pork Association; Missouri State Fair; Paradise Point Golf Course; Ragtag Cinema; Shakespeare’s Pizza; St. Louis Cardinals; Stoney Creek Inn; Tee’s Etc. Design & Apparel; Urban Chestnut Brewery; White Mule Winery; Chris Willow.

The Clover Classic committee was led by co-chairs Bob Idel and John Raines, and included Rachel Augustine, Breanne Brammer, Kelli Jo Buettner, Doug and Emily Kueker, Jon Bishop, Russell Mitchell, Don Nikodim, Luke Walker, Wendy Hall, and Chris Willow.

About Missouri 4-H

4-H, the nation’s largest youth development organization, grows confident young people who are empowered for life today and prepared for careers tomorrow. 4-H programs empower nearly 6 million young people across the U.S. through experiences that develop critical life skills.

University of Missouri Extension 4-H connects the technical knowledge of Mizzou to a community of more than 200,000 youths from across Missouri learning about the sciences, leadership, citizenship and skills for life. For more than 65 years, the Missouri 4-H Foundation has been managing funds for the MU Extension 4-H Youth Development Program, providing higher education scholarships and recognizing 4-H volunteers.

Media Contact