• 2023 inductees in the Missouri 4-H Hall of Fame. Photo by Amanda Stapp.
    2023 inductees in the Missouri 4-H Hall of Fame. Photo by Amanda Stapp.

SEDALIA, Mo. – The Missouri 4-H community honored the 2023 inductees into the Missouri 4-H Hall of Fame in August at State Fair Community College in Sedalia.

“This year’s inductees represent not just the best but a commitment to making the best even better,” said Rachel Augustine, senior director of advancement for the Missouri 4-H Foundation. “With unwavering dedication, remarkable contributions and a profound legacy of volunteer leadership, these remarkable individuals have elevated the standards of excellence within the 4-H program.”

Inductees representing 33 counties and one inductee representing the state established a legacy totaling 1,061 years of service to 4-H, Augustine said. Friends and family members attended the 17th annual event sponsored by FCS Financial and the Missouri State Fair in partnership with the Missouri 4-H Foundation.

“Each year, the Missouri 4-H Hall of Fame induction serves as a poignant reminder of the lasting impact that volunteers can have on the lives of young people, families and communities,” she said. “It is a celebration of passion, selflessness and a relentless drive to empower the next generation of leaders.”

“We are eternally grateful to these volunteers with an incredible legacy of service and honor these exceptional individuals,” said Lupita Fabregas, director of the University of Missouri Extension 4-H Center for Youth Development.

“From the heart of Missouri’s vibrant cities to the quiet corners of its rural landscapes, the 2023 inductees have woven together a tapestry of experiences, knowledge and wisdom that has enriched the lives of countless 4-H members,” Fabregas added. “Their stories inspire us to reach greater heights, to embrace challenges with resilience and to pass on the torch of leadership to the generations that follow.”

2023 Missouri 4-H Hall of Fame inductees:

  • Robert “Bob” Idel, statewide
  • Rick and Melinda Morgan, Barton County
  • Elvera Schnakenberg Zimmerschied, Benton County
  • Nancy Nelson, Boone County
  • Gloria Leamer, Caldwell County
  • Stella Patton, Carroll County
  • Barb Clark, Clark County
  • Janice Loesch, Cole County
  • Wilfred “Jerry” and Margaret Monk*, Cooper County
  • Dana Richter, Crawford County
  • Dorothy “Joanne” Snodgrass, Dade County
  • Doris Koch, Franklin County
  • Kelly Thomas, Gasconade County
  • Milton and Janet Sager, Gentry County
  • Jim Raysik Inc., Henry County
  • Patricia Gordon*, Jasper County
  • Pam Callahan, Johnson County
  • Gary and Barb Copenhaver, Lafayette County
  • Kaye Scott, Lawrence County
  • Tracy Dames, Lewis County
  • Lauren Richardson, Lincoln County
  • Bill Allen, Linn County
  • Gracie Jones, Livingston County
  • Kevin and Diane DeHaan Marion County
  • Helen Miller, Monroe County
  • Rhonda Helm, Newton County
  • Opal Williams, Phelps County
  • Marion Branstetter, Pike County
  • Alan Dreves, Ray County
  • Ruth and James Mellor, St. Charles County
  • Martha Ware, Sullivan County
  • Donna Shorten, Vernon County
  • Ardell Mikus, Warren County

*Posthumous award.

About Missouri 4-H

Missouri 4-H is an active, dynamic organization of young people who are learning, growing, and preparing to be the leaders of today and tomorrow – making a real difference in their community, country and world. 4-H is the youth development program of the University of Missouri and the nation’s Cooperative Extension System. For more information, visit

About the Missouri 4-H Foundation

The Missouri 4-H Foundation is the independent philanthropic partner of the University of Missouri Extension 4-H Center for Youth Development. For more than 70 years, the foundation has secured and managed funds for Missouri 4-H, providing higher education scholarships, recognizing 4-H volunteers and supporting the work of MU Extension 4-H. Learn more at

2023 inductees in the Missouri 4-H Hall of Fame. Photo by Amanda Stapp.