Like us on Facebook

Want to know what’s new with University of Missouri Extension-Oregon County?  Like us on Facebook.  Search Oregon County Extension Center.  Learn about new programs, get news you can use and see how extension adds value to the everyday lives of Missourians.

Highlights of local programs

Build Your Board

Build Your Board is a convenient training program designed specifically for board members of non-profit organizations. Created by University of Missouri Extension community development specialists with over 50 years of combined experience in the field, the information presented is reliable and resourceful.

Online training offers convenience and flexibility. Participants can log in at any time and can take all 16 lessons at once or can break the training up in 15-minute intervals. No meetings to attend and no travel expenses mean both time and money will be saved.

See more details here:  http://extension.missouri.edu/nonprofit/build-your-board.aspx

South Central Ag Newsletter

Sarah Kenyon, Texas County agronomy specialist, and other specialists around the area, publish a monthly newsletter for regional producers. If you would like information on a specific topic, contact Sarah at kenyons@missouri.edu.     
Read the newsletters on the Livestock page.

Regional newsletters

Click on the links provided to view the most recent editions of these newsletters.

Missouri Ag News

Missouri Ag News is a monthly publication of the University of Missouri Extension, compiled by Agriculture Specialists in the Southeast Region of Missouri. Archive files are listed here in PDF format. Contributions to this publication are made by the following specialists:

Kevin Anderson, ag business specialist: andersonkl@missouri.edu or 573-648-1035
Sam Atwell, agronomy (rice) specialist: atwells@missouri.edu or 573-748-5531
Donna Aufdenberg, horticulture specialist: aufdenbergd@missouri.edu or 573-238-2420
Richard Deloughery, agronomy specialist:  delougheryr@missouri.edu or 573-683-6129
Sarah Denkler, horticulture specialist: denklers@missouri.edu or 573-686-8064
Erin Larimore, livestock specialist: LarimoreE@missouri.edu or 660-527-3363
Mike Milam, agronomy (cotton) specialist: milamm@missouri.edu or 573-888-4722
Anthony Ohmes, agronomy (corn) specialist: ohmesa@missouri.edu or 573-683-6129
David Reinbott, ag business specialist: reinbottd@missouri.edu or 573-545-3516
Joel Tatum, livestock specialist: tatumjo@missouri.edu or 573-224-5600
Frank Wideman, ag engineering specialist: widemanf@missouri.edu or 573-547-4504

If you are interested in receiving this publication via email, send a request to Sarah Denkler at denklers@missouri.edu

http://extension.missouri.edu/butler/moagnews.aspx

The Spade newsletter

The Spade is a monthly publication of the University of Missouri Extension, compiled by Horticulture Specialists in the Southeast and East Central Region of Missouri. Archive files are listed here in PDF format. Contributions to this publication are made by the following specialists:

Donna Aufdenberg, Horticulture Specialist: aufdenbergd@missouri.edu
Sarah Denkler, Horticulture Specialist: denklers@missouri.edu
Kate Kammler, Horticulture Specialist: kammlerk@missouri.edu

If you are interested in receiving this publication via email, send a request to any of the contributors listed above.

http://extension.missouri.edu/butler/spade.aspx

Healthy Lifestyle Initiative

Since 2010, Oregon County’s Healthy Lifestyle Initiative (HLI) grant has worked to increase the availability of healthy, affordable, locally produced food and safe, accessible physical activity. The Backpack Program helps identify and discreetly provide for school children in need of healthy weekend meals. Through this grant, Oregon County HLI also offers information, resources and demonstrations for healthy cooking and community gardening. Read more about Oregon County’s Healthy Lifestyle Initiative.