Soil Testing 

Soil testing saves time and money. Whether you grow acres of row crops or have a vegetable patch in the backyard, a soil test will provide you with an analysis of nutrients and a set of recommendations for improvements. Call or visit the University of Missouri Extension Office in Linn County for details (660-895-5123). Basic testing is $25 for the first test, $12.50 for every additional test. Additional fees are required for additional tests. Each sample box requires at least 2 cups of dry soil. Results will be mailed to you in 10 to 14 working days.

Popular Publications

MU Extension Publication G427 - 2018 Cash Rental Rates in Missouri

MU Extension publications G302, 2016 Custom Rates for Farm Services in Missouri

Office Closings

The extension center is closed on legal holidays observed by the University of Missouri. The MU Extension Office in Linn County will be closed on the following dates for 2019:

  • New Year's Day - Tuesday, January 1
  • Martin Luther King, Jr. Day - Monday, January 21
  • Memorial Day - Monday, May 27
  • Independence Day - Thursday, July 4 
  • Labor Day - Monday, September 2
  • Thanksgiving - Thursday & Friday, November 28 - 29 
  • Christmas Day - Wednesday, December 25 
  • Winter Break - TBD

2019 Council Meetings 

The Linn County Extension Council meeting dates for 2019 are listed below.  Meetings begin at 7:00 p.m. and are held in the Linn County Ambulance District Training Room located at 28600 Highway 11 in Brookfield, unless otherwise noted.

  • Sunday, February 10 - Annual Meeting, 2:30 p.m., MU Forage Systems Research Center, 21262 Genoa Rd., Linneus, MO
  • Monday, April 29
  • Monday, June 24
  • Monday, August 26
  • Monday, October 28
  • Monday, December 16