Horse Bowl tests youth on equine knowledge

  • Published: Friday, Feb. 16, 2018

COLUMBIA, Mo. – The Missouri Horse Shows Association (MHSA) and University of Missouri Extension in Boone County hosted a Horse Bowl competition in Columbia at the Stephens College campus Jan. 27.

Thirteen teams of students, ages 9-18, competed in three divisions: junior, intermediate and senior. They represented a variety of organizations, including MHSA, local Saddle Clubs, Pony Club, 4-H and FFA.

Participants competed by answering a wide variety of questions about horses and equestrianism. Judges were Jennie Petterson, Sarah Track and Laura Ward, all faculty in the School of Equestrian Studies at William Woods University in Fulton.

The champion junior division team came from Boone County 4-H, with an additional member from the Columbia Equestrian Center. Team members were Madilyn Carmichael, Piper Givan (Columbia Equestrian Center), Kaelynn Samuels, Cooper Skouby, Hunter Skouby and Audri Webster. Piper and Hunter tied for high-scoring individual.

The winning intermediate division team also came from Boone County 4-H, with an additional member from Callaway County 4-H. Team members were Marta Cunningham, Abby Eddy, Kirsten Harris (Callaway County), Brooke Salmon and Shelby Wilson. Brooke was the high-scoring individual.

The champion senior team came from Greene County 4-H. Team members were AB Burkhart, Cara Driskell, Ella O’Connor and Mattie Cobban, who was the high-scoring individual.

All participants in the Horse Bowl Competition received backpacks from the Stephens College Equestrian Studies Department. Members of the winning junior and intermediate teams also received a camelback water bottle from Rosewood Custom Homes, Debbie and Gary Thomas, owners; a porcelain Tang horse from Boone County Northern District Commissioner Janet Thompson; and an exclusive day tour during the 2018 foaling season of the MU Veterinary Clinic, courtesy of MU’s College of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources (CAFNR). All members of the winning senior team received a $500 scholarship from CAFNR, in addition to the prizes from Rosewood Custom Homes and Thompson.

Mattie Cobban, the senior team high-scoring individual, also received $1,000 scholarship opportunities from Moberly Area Community College, Stephens College, William Woods University, CAFNR and the members of the Boone County Commission: Dan Atwill, Fred Parry and Janet Thompson.

Representing these institutions were UM System President Mun Choi; William Woods University Vice President of Advancement Shawn Poore; Kelly Hulse, assistant professor of equestrian studies at Stephens College; Moberly Area Community College Dean of Student Affairs Michele McCall; CAFNR Associate Dean of Academic Programs Bryan Garton; Alison Copeland, interim program director, MU Extension 4-H Center for Youth Development; and Dan Atwill, Boone County presiding commissioner.

For more information, contact Janet Thompson at 573-864-5197.

Photo info

Back row, from left: Bryan Garton, Mun Choi, Shawn Poore, Michele McCall, Alison Copeland, Kelly Hulse, Dan Atwill. Front row, from left: Three of the winning Junior Division team members from Boone County 4-H—Cooper Skouby, Kaelynn Samuels, Hunter Skouby.

Media Contact

Alison Copeland

Use Tab key to loop through the section below. Press Enter or Space to enter content for each tab button. Press Esc key to exit and to go to the next section at any time.

Extension resources