4-H youths test skills at State 4-H Horse Judging Contest

  • Published: Wednesday, May 4, 2022

FULTON, Mo. – The University of Missouri Extension State 4-H Horse Judging Contest, April 9, drew 70 4-H members to compete at William Woods University in Fulton.

The 4-H delegation was greeted by newly appointed William Woods University President Jeremy Moreland. After the contest, youths and coaches toured the facilities and learned more about the university’s equine program from faculty and students.

A majority of participants reported that their skills in areas such as evaluating equine conformation, interpreting discipline patterns and using correct terminology improved as a result of participating in the event, said Maria Calvert, Missouri 4-H state agriculture and natural resources educator.

Top 10 junior competitors (ages 8-10 only)

  • First – Allie Moore, Linn County.
  • Second – Emma Thornburg, Marion County.
  • Third – Avery Spears, Boone County.
  • Fourth – Clara Lewis, Newton County.
  • Fifth – Heidi Lehenbauer, Marion County.
  • Sixth – Lola Schmitt, Newton County.
  • Seventh – Edith Carson, Boone County.
  • Eighth – Raelynn Welch, Phelps County.
  • Ninth – Kellen Camden, Marion County.
  • 10th – Layton Ruppel, Callaway County.

Top 10 junior competitors (ages 8-13)

  • First – Morgan Benne, Callaway County.
  • Second – Gracie Smith, Boone County.
  • Third – Delaney Duncan, Cass County.
  • Fourth – Lydia Smithee, Callaway County.
  • Fifth – Mylee Geringer, Perry County.
  • Sixth – Taylor Reeves, Ray County.
  • Seventh – Amethyst Ogle, Newton County.
  • Eighth – Kaelynn Samuels, Boone County.
  • Ninth – Jocelynn Newell, Laclede County.
  • 10th – Faith Calvin, Jasper County.

Top three junior teams

  • First – Callaway County.
  • Second – Boone County.
  • Third – Newton County.

Top 10 senior competitors (ages 14-18)

  • First – Jenna Everhart, Cass County.
  • Second – Alexis Mullins, Phelps County.
  • Third – Ava Hughes, Laclede County.
  • Fourth – Caroline Wagoner, Henry County.
  • Fifth – Lauren Bailey, Henry County.
  • Sixth – Ester Kincaid, Ray County.
  • Seventh – Ava Walker, Adair County.
  • Eighth – Tannah Cassatt, Jasper County.
  • Ninth – Alexis Reeves, Ray County.
  • 10th – Sophie Albright, Marion County.

Top three senior teams

  • First – Henry County.
  • Second – Adair County.
  • Third – Ray County.

Members of the championship team from Henry County will advance to represent Missouri in a national competition.

Major support for Missouri 4-H Agriculture and Natural Resources programs is provided by the Missouri 4-H Foundation in partnership with Bass Pro Shops, Corteva Agriscience, Crader Distributing Co., FCS Financial, Missouri Association of Meat Processors, Missouri Farm Bureau, Missouri Holstein Association, Eunice Campbell, and Robert E. “Bud” Hertzog, DVM.

About 4-H

More than 55,000 members strong, Missouri 4-H is an active, dynamic organization of young people who are learning, growing and preparing to be the leaders of today and tomorrow – making a real difference in their community, country and world. 4-H is the youth development program of the University of Missouri and the nation’s Cooperative Extension System. For more information on Missouri 4-H, visit 4h.missouri.edu.


State 4-H Horse Judging Contest top senior team, representing Henry County. From left, Riley Heerdink, Caroline Wagoner, Lauren Bailey, Hannah Miller.

Top senior competitors. From left, Ava Hughes, Jenna Everhart, Alexis Mullins.

Top junior competitors. From left, Lydia Smithee, Delaney Duncan, Morgan Benne, Gracie Smith, Mylee Geringer.

Top junior team, representing Callaway County. From left, Katelyn Coil, Lydia Smithee, Morgan Benne, Emily Harris.

Top junior competitors (age 8-10 only). From left, Clancey Jones, Clara Lewis, Lola Schmitt, Avery Spears, Edith Carson, Hedi Lenhenbauer.

Writer: Maria Calvert

Use Tab key to loop through the section below. Press Enter or Space to enter content for each tab button. Press Esc key to exit and to go to the next section at any time.

Extension resources