State extension council

University of Missouri State Extension Council

The University of Missouri State Council promotes the common interest of county councils through:

  • Support for research and extension programs of MU and Lincoln University at all levels of government
  • Dissemination of information on the need for, and advantage of, research and extension

The UM Extension State Council is comprised of individuals who currently serve, or have served, on a county extension council and who are elected by regional extension councils.

The UM Extension State Council meets the second Friday of each month.

Members

Current members of the University of Missouri Extension State Council:

Anita Hampton, Chair
1310 E. 405th Rd., Bolivar, MO  65613
417-327-7844 (cell)
anitahampton@windstream.net
West Central Region

Dolores Howard, Vice Chair of Administration
1435 Schwartz Lane, Farmington, MO 63640
573-760-2022
tripleh6164@att.net
East Central Region

Glenn Coleman, Vice Chair of Extension Relations
20325 S Coleman Rd., Peculiar, MO 64078
816-820-4822
gcoleman75@hotmail.com
West Central Region

Ronda Elfrink, Secretary
HC 1, Box 3B, Leopold, MO 63760
573-238-4131 
relfrink@clas.net
Southeast Region

Carl Allison
3141 S. Ventura, Springfield, MO 65804
417-886-2840 
carl-allison@sbcglobal.net
Southwest Region

Mike Bottom
PO Box 546, Cuba, MO 65453
573-647-6
117
kneedeepfarms@gmail.com
East Central Region

Walter Carr
25035 Icarus Rd., Brookfield, MO 64628
660-258-5346
x.lcfarmx@yahoo.com
Northeast Region

Allen Garner
3808 S. Coachman Ct., Independence, MO 64055
816-522-4639 
allen@allengarnerlaw.com
Urban Region (west)

Paul Klossner
7050 3 B Road, Cedar Hill, MO 63016
314-220-0274 
plklossner@gmail.com
Urban Region (east)

Walter Martens
502 Cash Spring Rd., Ozark, MO 65721
wmartens@trackermarine.com
Southwest Region

Beverly Schenkel
26556 Glacier Rd., Maryville, MO 64468
660-582-4209
jbschenkel@unitedsky.net
Northwest Region

Ed Mobley
722 Barton, Doniphan, MO 63935
573-776-4355 
ejmobley@windstream.net
Southeast Region

Sallie Jo Potter
3697 CR 136, Bolckow, MO 64427
816-390-7582 
potterfarms@hotmail.com
Nothwest Region

H.C. Russell, Chair
4207 W. Ridge Trail Rd., Clark, MO  65243
573-876-5552
hrussell@mfa-inc.com
Northeast Region

Vern Windsor
506 Northpoint  Ave, Liberty, MO 64068
816-522-7570 
vwindsor@kc.rr.com
Urban Region

Lynda Zimmerman, UMEA Liaison
2436 Tanner Bridge Road, Jefferson City, MO 65101
573-634-2824
zimmermanl@missouri.edu
East Central Region

Nathan Smith, 4-H Council Liaison
16 York Lane, Villa Ridge, MO 63089
nslawyer@juno.com

Council district option

Effective Aug. 28, 2013, county extension councils in Missouri have the option to form single-council or consolidated districts. This change to Missouri’s county extension laws, the first since 1961, was made to enable county extension councils to operate more efficiently and support extension operations and programs in their counties that directly affect the lives of Missouri residents. The district option law allows an extension district to seek funding through a property tax levy.

Legislative Day

The 2015 Legislative Day at the State Capitol was held on Feb. 25. Ed Mobley, UM Extension State Council and recruitment chairman for Legislative Day, says the event "affords us the opportunity to meet one-on-one with those whom we have elected, to let them hear your concerns, share examples of ways we are impacting lives and driving the economy, inform them about what we are doing in the urban areas and educate the elected officials on the programs they might not be familiar with yet."

Updates on the happenings at Legislative Day 2015 are forthcoming. Please check back for more, including information on Legislative Day 2016.

By-laws

State Council By-Laws, updated January 2013 (PDF)

Contact:
Tony DeLong
County Council Coordinator
E-mail: DeLongT@missouri.edu
Phone: 573-882-4592