Tuberculosis (TB) Session

Description

Tuberculosis (TB) is a major global force, killing upwards of almost 1.5 million people annually around the globe. Although the TB case count was exceeded by the COVID-19 pandemic in 2020, TB is typically the single greatest infectious killer of humans each year. Importantly, TB, a chronic, primarily respiratory bacterial disease, can also affect farm animals, wildlife, and pets. One of the causative agents of TB is called Mycobacterium bovis (M.bovis). It can infect most mammals. For example, each year, thousands of cattle are diagnosed with TB, but only a small number of TB cases in pets are recorded, mostly cats. If talk of this ancient disease doesn't captivate you, consider that experts now worry that cases of animal-to-human TB transmission are likely far greater than previously realized! That's scary!

With all of that in mind, this presentation will address:

  • The global picture of TB in people, livestock, and wildlife
  • How pets can get TB
  • How to check whether a pet has TB
  • Health risks for people and other animals
  • How to manage TB in a pet
  • What happens if TB is confirmed in a pet

*Certificate will be given upon completion
*.1 CEU's credited upon completion

Class will be held
12:00 - 1:30 p.m. - Alaskan Time
1:00 - 2:30 p.m. - Pacific Time
2:00 – 3:30 p.m. – Mountain Time
3:00 – 4:30 p.m. – Central Time
4:00 – 5:30 p.m. – Eastern Time

1 Hour Class with an additional thirty minutes for discussion

Must be registered with an email to attend class.

Cost: $30

Tuberculosis (TB) Session flyer

National Animal Cruelty Investigations School

Register For Event

Registration

Use Tab key to loop through the section below. Press Enter or Space to enter content for each tab button. Press Esc key to exit and to go to the next section at any time.

Extension resources