Private Pesticide Applicator Training


Missouri law requires all purchasers and users of restricted-use pesticides to attend a training session to be certified for a private applicators license. Those obtaining a private applicators license may not accept payment if spraying pesticides for someone else. The private applicators license is good for five years.  You must be 18 years of age and directly involved in the production of agricultural commodities to obtain this license. 

During this training, participants will learn about safe handling of pesticides, proper mixing, calibration techniques, environmental ramifications of improper mixing or careless application, chemical breakdown of pesticides in the environment, what records are needed, pesticide formulations, personal protective wear and how to clean it, pesticide storage, common MO pests, and integrated pest management (IPM). 

As University of Missouri continues to keep public health a priority, face to face private pesticide applicator training has been suspended. At this time, MU Extension is offering virtual training through a live Zoom meeting as an option. This will meet EPA and MO Dept of Ag requirements.

Each farm must have a copy of the M87 Private Pesticide Applicator Training Manual, which can be purchased for $25 online ( Please have this manual with you during  training.

This class does not include the annual training required to apply synthetic auxin herbicides (i.e. dicamba) given by the registrants. See for more information.

This training also does not include the supplemental training required to apply paraquat dichloride. For more information see

Register online or contact Hickory County Extension at 417-745-6767.

Cost: Free

Use Tab key to loop through the section below. Press Enter or Space to enter content for each tab button. Press Esc key to exit and to go to the next section at any time.

Extension resources