LETI Handgun Instructor Certification and Recertification Seminar

Description

This handgun instructor course is designed to verify student’s adherence to safety principles and firearms handling capabilities while providing students with the necessary experiences to develop, participate in, and manage firearms range training activities. With a focus on handgun instruction, the class will cover training liability considerations, coaching considerations, and advanced handgun maintenance. Students will be evaluated during a variety of exercises, including: classroom teaching, range preparation, drill development and execution, and shooter performance evaluation and correction. This course is a pre-requisite to Law Enforcement Training Institute’s Shotgun Instructor, Patrol Rifle Instructor, and Red Dot Sight Pistol Instructor courses, beginning in 2022. 

Prior to 2022, this course information was covered within Firearms Instructor Certification-Level 1. That old course has been broken into 2 courses. 

Instructor: Zach Chinea
Zach is the primary Firearms, Defensive Tactics and Use of Force Instructor for the Law Enforcement Training Institute Basic Police Academy and Seminar Programs. Before joining LETI he served for seven years with the Boonville, Missouri and University of Missouri Police Departments. He was a Field Training Officer, Defensive Tactics Instructor, Firearms Instructor, and Department Armorer. In addition to his work with LETI he is working toward his Juris Doctor at the University of Missouri School of Law. 

P.O.S.T. CEUs-40 Hours

  • Legal Studies-4 Hours 
  • Technical Studies-8 Hours 
  • Skill Development-12 Hours 
  • Skill Development-Firearms-16 Hours 

Fee info:
Certification fee: $675.00 - good for 3 years

Recertification fee: $475.00 - good for 3 years

Payment:
Register online and pay with a credit card or Purchase Order.
Check payment can be made with the printable Registration Form.

Refund policy: Full refunds will be accommodated up to five working days prior to seminars. Cancellations five business days before the start of class or no-shows will be subject to a 20% service charge regardless of payment type. 

Register For Event

Registration

Use Tab key to loop through the section below. Press Enter or Space to enter content for each tab button. Press Esc key to exit and to go to the next section at any time.

Extension resources