Leadership and committees

2015 - 2016 Officers

  • Sarah Denkler, President
  • Amy Patillo, President-elect
  • Clint Dougherty, Vice President
  • Emily Crowe, Secretary
  • Rebecca Travnichek, Treasurer
  • Lynda Zimmerman, Past-president

Board of directors

The UMEA Board of Directors is made up of the officers, two representatives from each region, the chairs of the standing committees, and the presidents of the professional associations. Alternates serve on the board only when one of the representatives is unable to attend the meeting.

Professional association representatives

  • Brent Carpenter, MAEP
  • Sarah Traub, MEAFCS
  • Nancy Coleman, MAE4-HYW
  • Crystal Weber, MACEDEP
  • Meridith Berry, ESP

Regional representatives

  • Campus
    Andrew Zumwalt (2016)
    Susan Mills-Gray  (2017)

    Karen Sherbondy (alternate)
  • East central
    James Quinn (2016)
    Pat Snodgrass (2017)
    Chantae Alfred (alternate)
  • Northeast
    Virgil Woolridge (2016)
    Jim Meyer (2017)
    Mary Sobba (alternate)
  • Northwest
    Becky Simpson (2016)
    Jerry Baker (2017)
    Meridith Berry (alternate)
  • Southeast
    Mary Gosche (2016)
    Bethany Bachmann (2017)
    George Ohmes(alternate)
  • Southwest
    Crystal Irons (2016)
    Jill Scheidt (2017)
    open (alternate)
  • Urban
    Dana Joerling (2016)
    Shatomi Luster (2017)
    Dan Cash (alternate)
  • West central
    Meg Webb (2016)
    Dedra Thomas (2017)
    Pat Miller (alternate)

Nomination committee

The nomination committee shall be chaired by the immediate past president and composed of one board member from each extension region and campus.

Lynda Zimmerman , Chair (Past President)

Regional representatives and alternates

  • Campus; Andrew Zumwalt 
  • EC: James Quinn  
  • NE; Virgil Woolridge
  • NW; Becky Simpson
  • SE; Mary Gosche  
  • SW; Jill Scheidt
  • Urban; Dana Joerling 
  • WC; Meg Webb

Awards committee

The Awards Committee shall be composed of one elected representative from each extension region and one representative from campus.

  • Campus; Marcia Shannon (2016); Steve Henness (alternate)
  • EC ; Sarah Massengale (2016), Kate Kammler (alternate) 
  • NE; Darla Campbell (2016) , (alternate)
  • NW; Randa Doty, NW (2016)  Nancy Coleman (alternate)
  • SE; Ashley Bales (2016),  Donna Aufdenberg, SE (alternate)
  • SW; Patrick Byers (2016),  Janet LaFon, SW (alternate)
  • Urban; Kara Lubischer (2016), Lydia Kaume, (alternate)
  • WC; Taryn Dameron (2016),  Jackie Rassmussen (alternate)


Professional Improvement and Staff Benefits committee

The Professional Improvement and Staff Benefits Committee shall be composed of two elected representatives from each extension region and two representatives from campus.

  • Campus;  Lynna Lawson (2016), Karen Sherbondy (2017), open (alternate)
  • EC; Stephanie Schindler (2016), Vivian Anderson (2017), Rebecca Blocker (alternate)
  • NE;  Letitia Johnson (2016), Megan Samson (2017), open (alternate)
  • NW;  Cindy Wells  (2016), Jessica Trussell (2017), open (alternate)
  • SE;  Richard Proffer (2016) Lesley Meier (2017), (alternate)
  • SW; Pam Duitsman (2016), Bob Schultheis (2017), Nellie Lamers (alternate)
  • Urban;open  (2016), Teresa Mareschal (2017), open (alternate)
  • WC; Taryn Dameron (2017), Holly Jay (2016), Jackie Rasmussen (alternate)

Finance committee

The Finance Committee shall be composed each year of the following members: president-elect, secretary, treasurer, two appointed board members, and the retiring treasurer will be ex-officio.

  • Clint Dougherty - Vice President NW; Business
  • Emily Crowe - Secretary EC; Nutrition
  • Rebecca Travnichek - Treasurer WC; Family Financial
  • Cindy Zluticky - Past Treasurer Urban
  • Becky Simpson - Appointed NW; Youth
  • Open - Appointed SW; Business