Gordon Warren Land-Grant Award

The Gordon Warren University Extension Land-Grant award began in 1991 with the first award given to Gordon Warren at the extension Annual Conference “to recognize someone who exemplifies the land-grant mission of the University of Missouri System and University Extension.”  Warren was a civic leader in Pulaski County (City of Richland), who served many years on the county extension council, was mayor, school board member, member of the Missouri Bankers Association, Missouri Health Coordinating Council and more  — all roles in which he linked university resources with people’s needs. Warren also was an avid supporter of Lincoln University. 

After Warren, the award was to be given to “an individual  who sees the universities as a community resource and who accesses knowledge and research to improve the lives of Missouri citizens.” Further, the award is to recognize someone who facilitates the use of knowledge to affect public policy.

The award is given at the discretion of the vice provost and director of extension.

Past recipients

2012   HC Russell

2009-2011 No annual conference

2008    Brady Deaton

2007    Diane Olson

2006    No annual conference

2005    Ed Turner

2004    Dale Ludwig

2003    No annual conference

2002    Jim Ollar

2001    B.W. Harrison

2000    Elaine Osborn

1999    Fred Hall

1998    Mel Carnahan

1997    Mel George

1996    James McHugh

1995    Peter Raven

1994    Ike Skelton

1993    Jim Dickerson

1992    Joe Jenkins

1991    Gordon Warren