For faculty and staff

Associated Industries of Missouri Extension Industry Award


The Associated Industries of Missouri Extension Industry Award recognizes an individual who demonstrates leadership in providing educational programs that support the economic viability of Missouri firms.


Associated Industries of Missouri presents a symbol of recognition.


University of Missouri and Lincoln University campus and regional faculty and professional staff members with a 50 percent extension appointment are eligible. Members of the immediate administrative staff of the vice chancellor for extension, regional directors, campus extension administrators and members of the Fellowship and Awards Committee are not eligible.


Nominees are evaluated on:

  • Recognized competence and leadership by Missouri industries.
  • Demonstration of their interest and ability to assist firms in finding solutions to their problems.
  • Established identity as providing quality information and educational programs.
  • Success in providing information on opportunities, plans, activities and progress to interested parties.
  • Effectiveness in establishing relationships with firms, organizations, legislators and civic groups.

Nominations and selection

County extension councils, extension faculty and staff members, manufacturers or other agencies may nominate an individual specialist. Nomination materials should include the nomination form, a three- to five-page narrative that addresses the award criteria and a resume or a current vitae with focus on how it relates to the award. Three letters of support are required. One must be from the nominee’s supervisor and the other letters can be from colleagues and clientele.

Nominations are reviewed by the Fellowship and Awards Committee appointed by the vice chancellor for extension and engagement. The committee — composed of representatives of UMEA, Epsilon Sigma Phi, the University of Missouri campuses and the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Extension and Engagement — makes recommendations to the vice chancellor and president of Associated Industries of Missouri, who makes the final selection.


Submit nominations to:

MU Extension Awards Committee
205 Whitten Hall
Columbia, MO 65211


Award location

The award will be presented at University of Missouri Extension's Annual Conference.

Award recipients


2016 Rebecca L. Gubbels
2015 Chrystal Dawn Irons
2014 Larry Nelson Dill
2013 Rebecca Rose Nace
2012 James R. Gann
2011 Chris Vincent Thompson
2010 Richard Dale Proffer
2009 Gregory D. Tucker
2008 Kevin Wilson
2006 Wendy Harrington
2005 Donna Marie Porch