For faculty and staff

Dr. Ronald J. Turner Endowment Global Education Award


The Ronald J. Turner Endowment Fund is established in honor of Dr. Turner's decade of service as the executive vice president for outreach and extension and director of cooperative extension at the University of Missouri. This endowment will be awarded each year to a faculty or staff member within University of Missouri Extension to support global education opportunities. The annual award is funded from a permanent endowment created with contributions from Dr. Turner's faculty, staff, colleagues and friends. The award may be used to assist in funding exchanges to Ireland, South Africa, Thailand, Costa Rica or other locations as requested.

A stable, well-trained workforce is necessary to ensure program quality and sustainability. University of Missouri Extension will strengthen efforts that will result in workforce diversity and retention. The goal is to ensure that the workplace climate affords a flexible, safe learning organization where employees are empowered and motivated to attain the greatest levels of success.


Recipients receive up to $1,000 (based on actual expenses) for an approved professional development activity.


Applications will be reviewed based on the professional development plan of the individual.

Applicants must:

  • Currently be employed as a university faculty or professional staff member.
  • Have three (3) years of consecutive employment with the University of Missouri.


Decisions will be based on:

  • The relationship of the global education professional development opportunity or programming in global education to the applicant's position with extension and their professional development plan.
  • Individual initiative and creativity.
  • The benefit of global education programming or future professional development opportunity to the individual, organization and clientele.
  • Applicant has not received award before.

Applications must be submitted prior to the professional development experience.

Nominations and selection

Back for 2018 . . . A fully electronic and simplified award process!!  Please click the link located in the submission section  to name your nominee for this award.  Nominations will open on June 1 and are accepted through July 13.  Nominators will be directed through a simple form consisting of brief text fields, drop-down selection boxes, and a single 500 character (or less) description of why your nominee is deserving of the award.  An individual award nomination involves only 7 brief fields or clicks, and a team award nomination involves only 12 fields or clicks.  Note:  Nominator name and contact information are not required fields; you may nominate anonymously or self-nominate.

After submission of the nomination form, the nominee will be contacted in early July to complete an electronic application form.  Many fields on the application form will auto-populate from the nomination information.  The nominee may edit this information and/or complete a single narrative (limit 750 characters) describing their work.  A current CV (for faculty awards) is the only requirement with no adaptation necessary to relate to the award. An easy checkbox page will allow the applicant to select the required references, with an option to list two additional references.  Applications from nominees are accepted through August 15.

Following the application submission, the references will be contacted in August to complete one checkbox and a single limited text field to support the nomination.  So simple!

If you have questions regarding this process, please contact Kim Foley at (573) 882-6114 or  For award-specific questions, please email

Nominations are reviewed by the Fellowship and Awards Committee appointed by the vice chancellor for extension. The committee — composed of representatives of UMEA, Epsilon Sigma Phi, the University of Missouri campuses and the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Extension and Engagement — makes recommendations to the vice chancellor, who makes the final selection.


Click here to submit your nominations:

For award questions, please email:

Award location

Award will be presented at annual conference or its equivalent.

Award recipients


2018 Karisha V. Devlin
2017 Lisa Marie Overholser
2016 Lee Ann Woolery
2015 Mary Simon Leuci
2014 Teng Teeh Lim
2013 Sharon Ann Gulick
2012 Crystal Weber
2011 Letitia K. Johnson
2010 Julie N. Middleton
2009 Amie D. Schleicher
2008 Joyce Lee Taylor
2007 Ann M. Cohen
2006 Sharen Kay Hunt