For faculty and staff

Carl N. Scheneman Excellence in Teaching Award


The Carl N. Scheneman Excellence in Teaching Award recognizes a University of Missouri Extension faculty member for planning, conducting and evaluating one extension educational activity conducted this past year.


Recipient receives up to $2,000 (based on actual expenses) for an approved professional development activity.


All University of Missouri Extension faculty are eligible. Members of the immediate administrative staff of the vice chancellor for extension, regional directors, campus extension administrators and members of the Fellowship and Awards Committee are not eligible.


Nominees should have a primary role in completing or making significant progress toward accomplishing identifiable goals of an extension teaching program conducted in one year.

Nominations are evaluated on:

  • Need for the educational activity and extent to which it reflects current University of Missouri Extension priority program areas.
  • Educational objectives and clear identification of the target audience.
  • Evaluation design and evidence of impact.
  • Innovation demonstrated by the educational activity.

Nominations and selection

University of Missouri campus and regional faculty and professional staff members may make a nomination by completing the attached nomination form. Nomination materials should include the nomination form, a three- to five-page narrative that addresses the award criteria and a resume or a curriculum vitae with a focus on how it relates to the award. Three letters of support are required. One must be from the nominee’s supervisor and the other letters can be from colleagues and clientele.

Nominations are reviewed by the Fellowship and Awards Committee appointed by the vice chancellor for extension. The committee — composed of representatives of UMEA, Epsilon Sigma Phi, the University of Missouri campuses, and the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Extension and Engagement — makes recommendations to the vice chancellor, who makes the final selection.


Submit nominations to:

MU Extension Awards Committee
205 Whitten Hall
Columbia, MO 65211


Award location

A symbol or recognition is presented by the vice chancellor for extension at a regional or campus event.

Award recipients


2016 Ashley Morgan Bales
2015 Joseph William Koenen
2014 Shirley J. Farrah
2013 Lee Ann Woolery
2012 David L. Burton
2010 Karen Jewel Elliott
2009 Wendeline S. Brumbaugh
2008 Rebecca J. Travnichek
2007 Cynthia E. Crawford
2006 Marsha A. Alexander
2005 Carole Grigsby Bozworth
2004 Nina Yuh Hsien Chen