For faculty and staff

Community Development Extension Endowment


The Community Development Extension Endowment provides support for activities that enhance community development in University of Missouri Extension, with special emphasis on professional development.


Individuals may request up to $500 in supplemental support. However, in exceptional cases, requests for up to $1,000 will be considered.


Applicants must have at least a 75 percent extension appointment, and meet the criteria in one of the following categories.


  1. Category A: State and Field Specialists with at least .25 FTE in Community Development
  2. Category B: Field Specialists wishing to enhance community development capability.
  3. Category C: Field Specialists wishing to enhance community development capability through an international experience. Preference is given to individuals with at least .25 FTE in Community Development.

Endowment funds are intended supplement the cost of participation in out-of-state professional development activities. Proposal should demonstrate high potential for enhancing capability in community development.


Nominations and selection

Emphasis will be given to proposals that add a field experience to an international professional development opportunity. For example, if the applicant is going to an international conference, endowment funds may be used to extend the stay for a field experience in the host country.


The proposal should include name, address, phone and e-mail. The nomination should include a short statement explaining the value of the experience to the individual, the community and to University of Missouri Extension. A detailed budget, including all costs and other sources of funding, should accompany the proposal. Total length including the nominee's statement should not exceed three pages.

Proposals may be submitted any time and will be considered for support when received, contingent of availability of funds. Proposals should be submitted to:

Stephen Jeanetta,
Community Development Program Leader
224 Gentry Hall
University of Missouri
Columbia, MO 65211-7040
Fax: 573-882-5127

Award location

The award will be given at a regional or campus event.

Award recipients


2015 Beverly Ann Maltsberger
2015 Lee Ann Woolery
2014 Amy Rachel Patillo
2013 David L. Burton
2013 Crystal Weber
2012 Connie J. Burnham
2012 Beverly Ann Maltsberger
2011 Mary Kathryn Dothage
2010 Richard Dale Proffer
2009 Stephen C. Jeanetta
2009 Wilson Majee
2008 Johanna R. Adams
2007 Johanna R. Adams
2007 Susan B. Tharp
2007 Celeste J. Vanderbrugen
2005 Barbara Jean Eavy
2005 Sandra S. Hodge
2005 Stephen C. Jeanetta
2005 Letitia K. Johnson
2004 Thomas E. Keohan
2004 Lyndell Dean Larkin
2004 Dennis Lee Minzes