For faculty and staff

Missouri Farm Bureau Federation Outstanding Human Environmental Sciences Specialist Award


The Missouri Farm Bureau Federation Outstanding Specialist Awards recognize outstanding performance by a regional human environmental sciences faculty member. Individuals must be nominated jointly by the county Farm Bureau board and the county extension council.


A representative of the Missouri Farm Bureau Federation presents a symbol of recognition to the recipient.


Regional extension human environmental sciences subject-matter specialists who have demonstrated outstanding programming for rural families during the past 18 months and are nominated jointly by the county extension council and the county Farm Bureau are eligible.  You may only receive this award once.


Nominees will be evaluated on:

  • Recognized competence in their field.
  • Demonstrated leadership and ability to develop and deliver high-quality educational programs for individuals and families.
  • Knowledge of the county's educational program needs.
  • Effectiveness in establishing relationships with the county extension council, county commission, county Farm Bureau, local legislators, agency personnel and community civic groups.

Nominations and selection

Nomination materials should include a nomination form, a three- to five-page narrative that addresses the award criteria, a resume or a current vitae with focus on how it relates to the award. A minimum of three letters of support are required: one must be from the nominee’s supervisor, one from the local county extension council and one from the local Farm Bureau board. Additional letters of support (limit of two) may be provided (but not required) from colleagues and clientele.

Nominations are reviewed by the Fellowship and Awards Committee appointed by the vice chancellor for extension and engagement. The committee — composed of representatives of UMEA, Epsilon Sigma Phi, the University of Missouri campuses and the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Extension and Engagement — makes recommendations to the vice chancellor, who makes the final selection.


Submit nominations to:

MU Extension Awards Committee
205 Whitten Hall
Columbia, MO 65211


Award location

Award will be presented at annual conference or its equivalent (Galaxy).

Award recipients


2016 Sarah Marie Traub
2014 Patricia Louise Snodgrass
2012 Jessica Lynn Trussell
2011 Susan L. Mills Gray
2010 Melissa M. Bess
2009 Tamara T. Roberts
2008 Rebecca J. Travnichek
2005 Wendeline S. Brumbaugh