For faculty and staff

Missouri Farm Bureau Federation Outstanding Agricultural Specialist Award


The Missouri Farm Bureau Federation Outstanding Agriculture Specialist Award recognize outstanding performance by a regional agriculture faculty member. Individuals must be nominated jointly by the county Farm Bureau board and the county extension council.


A representative of the Missouri Farm Bureau Federation presents a symbol of recognition to the recipient.


Regional extension agriculturalist or agriculture subject-matter specialist who have demonstrated outstanding program delivery during the past 18 months and are nominated jointed by the county Farm Bureau board and the county extension council are eligible.  You may only receive this award once.


Nominees will be evaluated on:

  • Recognized competence in their field, and knowledge of the people of the county, its agriculture and history.
  • Demonstrated leadership and ability to help people solve problems.
  • Established identity as the agricultural extension contact, who provides prompt, accurate and satisfying assistance through effective communication, to inform people of agricultural program opportunities, plans, activities and progress.
  • Effectiveness of relationships with the county extension council, county commission, local legislators, agency personnel, general farm organizations, and community and civic groups.

Nominations and selection

Back for 2018 . . . A fully electronic and simplified award process!!  Please click the link located in the submission section  to name your nominee for this award.  Nominations will open on June 1 and are accepted through July 13.  Nominators will be directed through a simple form consisting of brief text fields, drop-down selection boxes, and a single 500 character (or less) description of why your nominee is deserving of the award.  An individual award nomination involves only 7 brief fields or clicks, and a team award nomination involves only 12 fields or clicks.  Note:  Nominator name and contact information are not required fields; you may nominate anonymously or self-nominate.

After submission of the nomination form, the nominee will be contacted in early July to complete an electronic application form.  Many fields on the application form will auto-populate from the nomination information.  The nominee may edit this information and/or complete a single narrative (limit 750 characters) describing their work.  A current CV (for faculty awards) is the only requirement with no adaptation necessary to relate to the award. An easy checkbox page will allow the applicant to select the required references, with an option to list two additional references.  Applications from nominees are accepted through August 15.

Following the application submission, the references will be contacted in August to complete one checkbox and a single limited text field to support the nomination.  So simple!

If you have questions regarding this process, please contact Tiffany McMichael at (573) 882-2394 or  For award-specific questions, please email

Nominations are reviewed by the Fellowship and Awards Committee appointed by the vice chancellor for extension and engagement. The committee — composed of representatives of UMEA, Epsilon Sigma Phi, the University of Missouri campuses and the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Extension and Engagement — makes recommendations to the vice chancellor, who makes the final selection.


Click here to submit your nominations:

For award questions, please email:

Award location

Award will be presented at annual conference or its equivalent (Galaxy).

Award recipients


2017 Darla Lea Campbell
2016 Robert A. Kelly
2015 Jennifer Schutter
2014 Todd E. Lorenz
2013 C Tim Schnakenberg
2012 Wayne Edwin Flanary
2011 James J W Crawford
2010 Travis W. Harper
2009 Karisha V. Devlin
2008 Eugene G. Schmitz
2007 Timothy W. Horton
2006 Sutro Wayne Shannon
2005 Scott Collin Killpack
2001 Mark Alan Stewart
2000 Jesse Claude Owsley
2000 Brent A. Robinson
1999 Charles E. Browning
1999 Matthew David Herring
1998 Gerald Guy Bryan
1998 Karla J. Deaver
1996 Melvin Brees
1996 Raymond A. Nabors
1996 Dean W. Wilson
1995 Kenneth A. Bolte
1995 Roger Lee Eakins
1995 Thomas L. Hansen
1994 Richard Wayne Clark
1994 Gary D. Hoette
1993 Don Ray Day
1993 Leo William Reber
1992 Eldon Willard Cole
1991 Harold F. Mammen
1991 Wayne R. Prewitt
1991 Sarah J. Swofford
1990 Tony Ray Rickard
1990 Donald Wayne Utlaut
1989 Albert L. Kennett
1988 James E. Garrett
1988 James E. Kennel
1986 Ronald D. Young