For faculty and staff

Missouri Farm Bureau Federation Outstanding 4H Youth Specialist Award


The Missouri Farm Bureau Federation Outstanding Specialist 4-H Award recognizes outstanding performance by a 4-H youth faculty member. Individuals must be nominated jointly by the county Farm Bureau board and the county extension council.


A representative of the Missouri Farm Bureau Federation presents a symbol of recognition to the recipient.


Regional extension 4-H youth development specialists who have demonstrated outstanding programming for youths and families during the past 18 months and are nominated by the county extension council and the county Farm Bureau board are eligible.  You may only receive this award once.


Nominees are evaluated on:

  • Recognized competence in the field of 4-H youth development.
  • Knowledgeable of the county educational program needs.
  • Demonstrated leadership and ability to develop and deliver high-quality educational programs for youths and families.
  • Effectiveness in establishing relationships with the county extension council, county commission, local legislators, county Farm Bureau, agency personnel and community and civic groups.

Nominations and selection

Nomination materials include the nomination form, a three- to five-page narrative that addresses the award criteria, a resume or a current vitae with focus on how it relates to the award. A minimum of three letters of support are required: one must be from the nominee's supervisor, one from the local county extension council and one from the local Farm Bureau board. Additional letters of support (limit of two) may be provided (but not required) from colleagues and clientele.

Nominations are reviewed by the Fellowship and Awards Committee appointed by the vice chancellor for extension and engagement. The committee — composed of representatives of UMEA, Epsilon Sigma Phi, the University of Missouri campuses and the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Extension and Engagement — makes recommendations to the vice chancellor, who makes the final selection.


Submit nominations to:

MU Extension Awards Committee
205 Whitten Hall
Columbia, MO 65211


Award location

Award will be presented at annual conference or its equivalent (Galaxy).

Award recipients


2016 Annette E. Deering
2014 Rhonda M. Shafer
2013 Patricia Ann Fisher
2012 Velynda Jo Cameron
2011 Jeremy J. Elliott-Engel
2010 Nancy Elkins Mense
2009 Donald Jay Nicholson
2008 Mary Anne Patten
2005 Donna Marie Taake