Annual Teamwork Award


Recognizes University of Missouri and Lincoln University campus and regional faculty and professional staff members who have collaborated on an interdisciplinary or cross-campus team to develop, implement and evaluate a specific educational response to a specific need.


Recipients receive $5,000 to be used in support of the recognized program. A certificate or symbol of recognition is presented to each team member by the vice chancellor for extension and engagement.


The award will be given for an outstanding effort by University of Missouri or Lincoln University campus or regional faculty or professional staff members representing two or more disciplines or outreach and extension units (multicampus, multiregion or a combination thereof) working together as a team to plan, implement and evaluate a specific educational program. Emphasis is on a program as opposed to a single activity.


Each team member should have played a major role in completing or making significant progress toward accomplishing identifiable goals of the program (rather than a single activity).

Nominations are evaluated on:

  • Clear identification of the educational need and target audience.
  • Well-defined program objectives.
  • Use of interdisciplinary/multi-unit approach.
  • Use of innovative, problem solving approach.
  • Evaluation and evidence of impact.

Nominations and selection

University of Missouri and Lincoln University campus and regional faculty and professional staff members may make a nomination by completing the attached nomination form. Nomination materials should include the nomination form, a three- to five-page narrative that addresses the award criteria and a resume or a curriculum vitae from the team leader(s) with focus on how it relates to the award (limit two with no more than five pages each). Three letters of support are required. One must be from a relevant regional or program director. Other letters can be from colleagues and/or clientele.

Nominations are reviewed by the Fellowship and Awards Committee appointed by the vice chancellor for extension and engagement. The committee — comprised of representatives of UMEA, Epsilon Sigma Phi, the University of Missouri campuses and the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Extension and Engagement — makes recommendations to the vice chancellor, who makes the final selection.


Submit nominations to:

MU Extension Awards Committee
205 Whitten Hall
Columbia, MO 65211


Award location

Award will be presented at annual conference or its equivalent (Galaxy).

Award recipients

Teamwork award

2016 Metropolitan Food Systems
2015 Internal Partnerships/Child Care Provider Training in East Central Region
2014 Alliance for Grassland Renewal
2013 St. Louis Healthy Corner Store Project
2012 Reaching Amish and Mennonite Producers
2011 Taking Care of you: Body-Mind-Spirit
2010 Flood Recovery
2009 Improving Tall Fescue Production in NW MO with Lefumes & timing of Nitrogen Aplication
2008 Stay Strong Stay Healthy
2007 Bill Bee Safe
2006 Southwest Region News Service Team
2005 Gateway Grandparents / Kinship Network