Nodaway County Agriculture Awards


2015 Agriculture Hall of Fame Award

 Jerry and Esther and true examples of a traditional Midwest farm management operation. Yet, this husband and wife team is distinct because of their equal contribution to the management and labor of the business. They have also raise three children, Tina, a professor of communication at Iowa State University, Travis, deceased; and Tonya, an auditor for the Social Security Administration Office of Inspector General. Their children contributed time and effort to the day-to-day farm operation for 24 years. The Coffelt farm relied on little hired labor until their son’s death in 1994. They retained one part-time hired hand until 2008, carefully selecting college students majoring in an agriculture-related field. They provided practical experience for 28 college students over the years. Their employment of these young men and women demonstrates their ongoing commitment to the future of agriculture.

Jerry and Esther have lived their entire lives involved in agriculture. Even in their retirement, they strive to help establish young farmers when selecting tenants for the farm. They maintain fruitful gardens, care for a large yard and farmstead, and enjoy the peaceful views of their land.

 It gives me great pleasure to present the 2015 Nodaway County Hall of Fame Inductee Award to Jerry and Esther Coffelt. 


2015 University of Missouri Leader's Honor Roll

Each year, the Nodaway County Extension staff is given the opportunity to name outstanding community leaders to the University of Missouri Leader’s Honor Roll.  This award recognizes individuals who have gone above and beyond their call of duty on behalf of Extension. This year we would like to honor Walter Redden and Clarence Green. 


Walter Redden has served on the Nodaway County Extension Council since 2012.  He has served as the chairman of the council for the past three years.  While serving on the Extension council he has been an energetic and eager part of the team.  He is one of the first to volunteer for activities and never afraid to push the council to try something new. We appreciate how hard Walter works hard to help promote MU Extension within Nodaway County and throughout the region.  Walter is currently the Student Union Event Coordinator at Northwest Missouri State University.  He is a graduate of Northeast Nodaway and is currently enrolled in Northwest Missouri State University.  


The Northwest Missouri State University Police are key players in our local community as well as campus community.  They are committed to building key relationships with stakeholders and members of their team which has allowed them to focus on important issues impacting the community. They initiated contact with the Nodaway County Extension office seeking a program to improve understanding by the international community of our rental practices in the state of Missouri.  Clarence Green along with the members of his team has been instrumental in their support of the Rent Smart program which addresses the rights and responsibilities of landlords and tenants in Missouri.  Working together, we have been able to focus on many issues which have come to light as the international student population learns to navigate these unfamiliar waters.  The campus police department along with the Office of International Affairs has joined forces with University of Missouri Extension to partner in providing a variety of relevant topics to these students.  This in turn has benefited not only tenants and landlords but the community as well.  We appreciate the support of the campus police led by Clarence Green who will be accepting this honor on behalf of the University Police Department.


2015 Nodaway County State Fair Farm Family

Bob and Terri Lager and family of Maryville were among the 110 families honored during the Missouri State Fair’s Farm Family Day on August 17, 2015.

The Lager’s were selected as the Nodaway County Missouri State Fair Farm Family by the Nodaway County Extension Council and local Farm Bureau.  The family includes Shelby, Fritz and Anna.

Each year, the fair sets aside a day to recognize farm families from across the state who are active in their community, involved in agriculture, and participate in local outreach and extension programs such as 4-H and FFA.

The Lager’s operate a 1500-acre row crop and 150 head cow/calf operation.  Bob and Terri are also strong leaders in their community.  Bob has been involved in promoting Senate Bill 40, is a member of the Nodaway County Cattlemen Association and is serving as the Chairman of the Nodaway County Soil and Water Board.   In addition, Bob is on the Nodaway County Community Building Board and the Nodaway County 4-H/FFA Livestock Committee.  Terri is the club leader for the Maryville 4-H Club, serves as the Treasurer of the county 4-H council, serves on the Livestock Committee and in her free time she delivers Meals on Wheels.

The Lager children have followed in their parents footsteps and are also involved in the community.  Shelby, Fritz and Anna are all members of 4-H and show livestock at the local and state level.  Shelby is a senior at Maryville High School and is active in FFA.  Fritz is in 7th grade at Maryville Middle school and is a member of the football team and is participating in the American Royal Heifer Project.  Anna is a 6th grader at Maryville Middle School and loves playing Volleyball and Basketball.

The Lager Family’s community service does not stop there.  They are members of the St. Gregory’s Parish, where they serve as Communion Ministers, Lectors and Servers.  They also have a Little Brother, Logan, from the Nodaway County Big Brothers Big Sisters program.

The Nodaway County Extension Council was proud to have the Lager family represent the county at Farm Family Day at the Missouri State Fair.  The annual event was sponsored by the Missouri Department of Agriculture, the Missouri Farm Bureau, the Missouri State Fair, the University of Missouri College of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources, and University of Missouri Extension.