Search news


Story source




Extension news

MU news

MU news media

ADA Accessibile AddThis Widget

Missouri 4-H Foundation honors 40 volunteer leaders


Rachel Augustine
Missouri 4-H Foundation
Phone: 573-884-7641

Photos available for this release:

From left, State 4-H Council members Echo Essick, Mitchell Moon and Luke Walker with 2017 Friend of 4-H Award recipients Jason and Debbie Parsons.

Credit: Photo by Amanda Stapp

From left, State 4-H Council members Echo Essick and Mitchell Moon with 2017 State 4-H Council Alumni Award recipient Jeff Durbin and State 4-H Council member Luke Walker.

Credit: Photo by Amanda Stapp

From left, 2017 Naomi Crouch 4-H Volunteer Leadership Award recipients Susie Stowell of Kingsville Livestock Auction, Nancy Wilkerson and Joan Zeller.

Credit: Photo by Amanda Stapp

2017 Frank Graham 4-H Volunteer Leadership Award recipients.

Credit: Photo by Amanda Stapp

Published: Friday, March 24, 2017

COLUMBIA, Mo. – On Friday, March 17, the Missouri 4-H Foundation honored 40 dedicated volunteers for their commitment to helping Missouri 4-H youth and communities thrive.

“Our volunteers play a vital role in the continuous growth and development of Missouri 4-H youth,” said Marla Tobin, Missouri 4-H Foundation chair. “We are honored to be able to recognize the efforts of these dedicated volunteers and friends.”

More than 9,000 volunteers support the University of Missouri Extension 4-H Youth Development Program. With their help, Missouri 4-H creates opportunities for more than 220,000 youth in nearly every county of the state.

2017 State 4-H Council Alumni Award

  • Jeff Durbin, Marion County

2017 Friend of 4-H Award

  • Debbie and Jason Parsons, Johnson County

2017 Naomi Crouch 4-H Volunteer Leadership Awards

  • Nancy Wilkerson, Monroe County
  • Joan Zeller, Lafayette County
  • Kingsville Livestock Auction, Johnson County

2017 Frank Graham 4-H Volunteer Leadership Awards

  • Doris Backes-Delp, Phelps County
  • Les and Kim Cardwell, Knox County
  • Liz Carline, Audrain County
  • Connie Cooper, Jasper County
  • Barb DeJoode, Gentry County
  • Michael Dowell, Lafayette County
  • Alicia Endicott, Daviess County
  • Angela Francois, Montgomery County
  • Ron and Mary Kay Grusenmeyer, Platte County
  • Grace Johnson, Jackson County
  • Chet Jones, Henry County
  • Mary Lou Keiser, St. Charles County
  • Eleanor Kloeppel, Osage County
  • Mike Klott, Pike County
  • Fannie Lea, Crawford County
  • Sonny Lee, Marion County
  • Shawn McAfee, Clark County
  • Sherry McClelland, Dunklin County
  • Joshua McSparren, Scotland County
  • Joe and Kim Mitchell, Monroe County
  • Wade Monckton, Howard County
  • Debbie Parsons, Johnson County
  • Bob Schniedermeyer, Lincoln County
  • Don Schwartze, Cole County
  • Donna Sherman, Warren County
  • Scot Shively, Shelby County
  • Brian and Bonnie Stahlman, Cape Girardeau County
  • Kim Vogel, Saline County
  • Joyce Wagner, Cass County
  • Laura Zimmer, Clay County
  • Kim Zimmerman, Ray County

About Missouri 4-H and the 4-H Foundation

MU Extension 4-H connects the technical knowledge of Mizzou to a community of more than 200,000 youths from across Missouri learning about the sciences, leadership, citizenship and skills for life. For more than 65 years, the Missouri 4-H Foundation has been managing funds for the MU Extension 4-H Youth Development Program, providing higher education scholarships and recognizing 4-H volunteers.