Basic training

Spring 2014 training classes

These chapters will be hosting Basic Master Naturalist Training in the spring:

Boone's Lick Chapter — Boone County (Columbia area)

Orientation meeting: 6:30 - 8 p.m., February 4 at the Eagle Bluffs Conservation Area
Training course:  March 4 - May 13; classes meet weekly on Tuesday nights, 6 - 9 p.m. at the MDC Eagle Bluffs Conservation Area Headquarters, 6700 W. Route K, near McBaine.  
Registration: January 8 -  February 12, 2014
Class fee - $95.00

Contact:  Kent Shannon, MU Boone County Extension Center at shannond@missouri.edu;  phone: 573-445-9793
or visit http://extension.missouri.edu/boone/masternaturalist

 

Chert Glades Chapter — Joplin

Orientation meeting: 6:30 p.m., January 6 at the Walter Woods Conservation Area
Training Course: January 27 - April 21
Classes meet Monday nights 6 - 9 p.m. at Walter Woods Conservation Area
Includes three Saturday field sessions
Registration deadline: January 10
Training course fee: $85

Contact:
Jeff Cantrell, Missouri Department of Conservation, 417-629-3423, jeff.cantrell@mdc.mo.gov
or visit the chapter website at www.chertglades.org or info@chertglades.org

Hi Lonesome Chapter — Cole Camp

Orientation meeting: 6 - 8 p.m., February 10 at St. Paul Lutheran Church, 205 West Jefferson St., Cole Camp
Training course: March 3 - May 12; classes meet Monday nights 6 - 9 p.m. at St. Paul Lutheran Church
Includes three Saturday field sessions
Registration deadline: February 17
Training course fee: $95

Contact: Donnie Nichols, Nichols_donnie@yahoo.com, 660-723-3938 or
Syd Hime, Missouri Department of Conservation, syd.hime@mdc.mo.gov, 573-522-4115 extension 3370

Lake of the Ozarks Chapter — Camdenton

Orientation meeting: 6 - 8 p.m., January 20 at the MDC Office in Camdenton
Training Course: February 10 - May 5; classes meet Monday nights 6 – 9 p.m. at the Department of Conservation Office in Camdenton
Includes three Saturday field sessions
Registration deadline: January 23
Training course fee: $100

Contact:  
Jackie Rasmussen, University of Missouri Extension, 573-346-2644, rasmussenj@missouri.edu
Jodi Moulder, Missouri Department of Conservation, 573-346-2210 ext 233, Jodi.moulder@mdc.mo.gov;
or go to www.lakeozarkmasternaturalist.com

Loess Hills Chapter — St. Joseph

Orientation meeting: 5:30 - 8 p.m., January 21 at the MDC office in St. Joseph
Training course: February 25 - May 20; classes meet Tuesday nights 5:30 - 9 p.m. at the Department of Conservation Office
Includes five Saturday field sessions
Registration deadline: February 14
Training course fee: $100

Contacts:
TJ Preacher, Missouri Department of Conservation, 816-271-3111 ext 235, tj.preacher@mdc.mo.gov
Jim Humphrey at University of Missouri Extension,humphreyjr@missouri.edu
Tom Fowler at University of Missouri Extension fowlert@missouri.edu

Miramiguoa Chapter — Franklin County

Training course: January 9 – March 27; classes meet Tuesday nights 5 - 8 p.m. at East Central College in Union.
Includes three Saturday field sessions
Registration deadline: December 15
Training course fee: TBA

Contacts: Sam Faith, Missouri Department of Conservation, 636-451-3512 ext 6031. sam.faith@mdc.mo.gov
Matt Herring at University of Missouri Extension, 636- 583-5141 or herringm@missouri.edu