Flowers and houseplants

News

  • Wednesday, September 28, 2016
    COLUMBIA, Mo. – Many spring flowerbeds awaken with the vibrant colors of tulips. Once a valuable currency, tulip has a history as vibrant as its petals.
    Media available: photo
  • Friday, September 23, 2016
    COLUMBIA, Mo. – They are big, beautiful and bold. Their show-stopping flowers pack a wallop of color.
    Media available: photo
  • Thursday, September 1, 2016
    COLUMBIA, Mo. – Labor Day is a time for performing a labor of love on your hardworking perennial plants.
  • Wednesday, August 24, 2016
    COLUMBIA, Mo. – The unique beauty and pleasing fragrance of carnivorous plants lure unwary prey into their clutches. From an insect’s point of view, carnivorous plants are lovely to behold until they grab hold.
    Media available: photo
  • Friday, August 19, 2016
    COLUMBIA, Mo. – Like peacocks, some flowers strut their vibrant colors in fall. Annual flowers that prefer milder temperatures usually outperform their warm-weather friends in the garden at this time of the year.
  • Friday, August 12, 2016
    COLUMBIA, Mo. — A penny saved is a penny earned, but saving seeds from the garden can be a questionable use of time and energy.
  • Wednesday, July 27, 2016
    COLUMBIA, Mo. – Plants and people are alike when it comes to sizzling temperatures.
    Media available: photo
  • Wednesday, July 20, 2016
    COLUMBIA, Mo. – Hot days, cool nights and spotty showers create conditions for powdery mildew to thrive.
    Media available: photo
  • Monday, April 4, 2016
    COLUMBIA, Mo. – Container gardening can be a great option if time and space are in short supply.
    Media available: photo
  • Tuesday, January 31, 2012
    COLUMBIA, Mo. – A healthy garden starts from the ground up.
MU Extension near you