Flowers and houseplants

News

  • Monday, December 5, 2016
    COLUMBIA, Mo. – Evergreens, holly, mistletoe and other traditional plants adorning homes at this festive time of the year can pose risks, says University of Missouri Extension horticulturist David Trinklein.
  • Wednesday, November 16, 2016
    COLUMBIA, Mo. – Your houseplants may look like they need CPR after you bring them inside to protect them from falling temperatures.
  • Thursday, November 10, 2016
    COLUMBIA, Mo. –The end of the growing season does not have to signal the end of tropical container plants that have brought months of enjoyment. “With a bit of care they can be carried through the winter and put to work the follow spring as outdoor patio plants,” said University of Missouri Extension horticulturist David Trinklein.
  • Thursday, November 3, 2016
    COLUMBIA, Mo. –  Ben Franklin’s adage of “an ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure” could be gardeners’ theme song for November.
  • Thursday, October 13, 2016
    COLUMBIA, Mo. – Minor bulbs make a major splash in early spring.
    Media available: photo
  • Wednesday, October 12, 2016
    MARBLE HILL, Mo. – Feed your garden and it will feed you.
  • Wednesday, September 28, 2016
    COLUMBIA, Mo. – Many spring flowerbeds awaken with the vibrant colors of tulips. Once a valuable currency, tulip has a history as vibrant as its petals.
    Media available: photo
  • Friday, September 23, 2016
    COLUMBIA, Mo. – They are big, beautiful and bold. Their show-stopping flowers pack a wallop of color.
    Media available: photo
  • Wednesday, August 24, 2016
    COLUMBIA, Mo. – The unique beauty and pleasing fragrance of carnivorous plants lure unwary prey into their clutches. From an insect’s point of view, carnivorous plants are lovely to behold until they grab hold.
    Media available: photo
  • Friday, August 19, 2016
    COLUMBIA, Mo. – Like peacocks, some flowers strut their vibrant colors in fall. Annual flowers that prefer milder temperatures usually outperform their warm-weather friends in the garden at this time of the year.
  • Friday, August 12, 2016
    COLUMBIA, Mo. — A penny saved is a penny earned, but saving seeds from the garden can be a questionable use of time and energy.
  • Wednesday, July 27, 2016
    COLUMBIA, Mo. – Plants and people are alike when it comes to sizzling temperatures.
    Media available: photo
  • Tuesday, January 31, 2012
    COLUMBIA, Mo. – A healthy garden starts from the ground up.
MU Extension near you