County extension council

The county extension council, comprised of elected and appointed citizens, is a full partner with Missouri's land-grant universities to deliver high-quality education and research-based information that helps people solve real-world problems and take advantage of opportunities.

Council members:

  • Work with extension specialists to provide the county educational program
  • Manage finances of local extension operations
  • Provide personnel to carry out extension activities
  • Elect and organize the local extension council

Council resource toolbox

The council resource toolbox is designed to assist council members and officers to best carry out their office duties and serve the constituents that they represent.

The Bates County Extension Council normally meets at 7 p.m. on the last Monday of February, April, June, August, October and December at the Extension Office. The public is invited. We recommend calling ahead to confirm time and location.

County extension council officers

Jerry Dean Ferguson, Chair
816-297-2534 (home)
816-806-8255 (cell)
Term ends February 2019

Mary Fischer, Vice Chair
417-395-4508 (home)
Term ends February 2019

Kay Wetter, Secretary
6608324880 (home)
Term ends February 2018

Wesley Jordan Merritt, Treasurer
660-679-4633 (home)
Term ends February 2018

County extension council members

Tyler Jason Black
816-289-4499 (home)
816-289-4499 (cell)
Term ends February 2018

Shannon Crawford
660-267-3444 (home)
660-424-0853 (cell)
Term ends February 2018

Kellie Davidson
Term ends February 2018

Larry Hacker
County Commissioner
417-395-2277 (home)
417-876-7900 (cell)
Term ends February 2019

Dolly Robey
Term ends February 2018

Missouri elected officials serving this county


District 126
District 056
District 057


District 31